Next Southampton Manager Odds – Hasenhuttl leads the way at 4/11

Former RB Leipzig boss Ralph Hasenhuttl is favourite to replace Mark Hughes in the Southampton hot-seat

Southampton have had a bumpy ride this season and while they managed to avoid relegation by the skin of their teeth at the end of last season, the signs are looking pretty ominous for the current campaign with the Saints third from bottom in the Premier League table. They let slip a two-goal lead against Manchester United at the weekend and can consider themselves lucky to have collected a single point in that outing, however the outcome of that disappointing result was the sacking of boss Mark Hughes after just nine months in charge. The club are now on the hunt for a new gaffer and the early odds-on favourite and number one choice for the Saints is former Red Bull Leipzig manager Ralph Hasenhuttl at 4/11 with William Hill Bookmakers.

Hasenhuttl left Leipzig at the end of last season after joining the newly-promoted club in the summer of 2016. He led them to a second-placed finish in the Bundesliga and a place in the Champions League in his first season at the helm. He would certainly be a popular appointment at St Mary’s although whoever takes the helm faces a huge task in steering the Saints up the league table.

Another early frontrunner was former Watford manager Quique Sanchez Flores. The ex Spanish international was in charge of the Hornets for just a single season and while he was odds-on to be next in charge at Southampton, his odds have drifted and he now finds himself second favourite for the position at a distant 7/1.

Sam Allardyce and David Moyes also feature highly in the betting markets, the two men having proven abilities in guiding teams away from the relegation zone, however at odds of 10/1 and 18/1 respectively they are very much considered rank outsiders.


Next Southampton Manager – William Hill Odds


4/11  –  Ralph Hasenhuttl

7/1  –  Quique Sanchez Flores

7/1  –  Paolo Sousa

10/1 –  Sam Allardyce

10/1 –  Garry Monk

18/1 –  David Moyes

20/1 –  Leonardo Jardim

20/1 –  Roberto Martinez